F1

Leclerc frustrated by “Charles 2.0” suggestions over F1 winning form

Ferrari Formula 1 driver Charles Leclerc has refuted suggestions that his winning form in 2022 reflects a transition to a “2.0” version of himself.

Leclerc frustrated by "Charles 2.0" suggestions over F1 winning form

Listen to this article

The Monegasque insists that he hasn’t made a big step since last season, F1  but has carried on with an established linear progression and simply taken advantage of having a truly competitive car for the first time since 2019.

Leclerc won the opening race of this season in Bahrain and finished second to Red Bull’s Max Verstappen after their duel in the closing stages of the Saudi Arabian GP. He leads the world championship heading into the third race in Australia.

“One thing that I don’t like, I’ve seen it everywhere, and I don’t like to see it, is ‘Charles 2.0’,” he said. “This is not the case.

“Yeah, I’ve had a growth from year-to-year that is linear. I never like to pot luck into place, but honestly last year there was two races in particular where I’ve lost many points, many valuable valuable points that weren’t too much in my control.

“And this [cost me] massively at the end of the year. And also fighting in between seventh and fourth position, whenever you are doing very good performance, nobody’s noticing it. Which makes it quite tricky.

“Then, of course I probably am even better now that I’m fighting for wins, because this is what I like to do. And it’s great to be back here. But overall, I think it’s just a linear growth from year-to-year, and there’s not a huge step from from last year.”

Leclerc insisted that he’s thriving on the pressure of taking the fight to world champion Verstappen.

“I mean it’s a good situation to be in, I think,” he said. “To have more pressure means you’re doing something right, and that you are in the right place.

Charles Leclerc, Ferrari F1-75

“So yeah, I never particularly struggled with pressure, I have a mindset that is just focusing on myself, on the job I have to do in the car, and not thinking too much about results and all that is around.

“Obviously seeing the last few years that have been very difficult, and now to be back at the top, gives a lot of motivation to the whole team, to me and yeah, it’s good to be here.”

Leclerc has outpaced Ferrari teammate Carlos Sainz thus far this year, but he says he can still extract more from the F1-75.

“I think it’s still very clear to me where I need to work on this car to get better and better. Obviously, we are still early days, and I’m pretty sure that all the drivers here have still a bit of margin. So then how much everyone has of margin, it’s difficult to know.

“I don’t really know where I’m gaining [on Sainz], I guess it’s a little bit everywhere. But we will wait and see. I mean, Carlos is a very strong driver, and it’s just a matter of time before he gets at ease with this car, I think.”

 

 

F1 Australian Grand Prix qualifying – Start time, how to watch, channel

Melbourne plays host to the third round of the 2022 Formula 1 season. Here’s how you can watch qualifying for the Australian Grand Prix.

Ferrari topped both practice sessions on Friday in the run up to qualifying, with Carlos Sainz setting the pace in FP1 and teammate Charles Leclerc going even quicker in FP2.

Max Verstappen separated Leclerc and Sainz in second practice, suggesting Australia might feature another two-horse battle between Red Bull Ferrari.

What time does qualifying for the Australian Grand Prix start?

Qualifying for the Australian will begin at 16:00 local time (+10 GMT) at the Albert Park Circuit on Saturday. The three-part session will last approximately one hour.

  • Date: Saturday, April 9, 2022
  • Start time: 06:00 GMT / 07:00 BST / 08:00 CEST / 08:00 SAST / 09:00 EAT / 02:00 ET / 23:00 PT (Friday) / 16:00 AEST / 14:00 JST / 10:30 IST

Can’t find your country or region in the list? Check the schedule page for the broadcast times in your local timezone.

2022 Formula 1 Australian Grand Prix session timings in different timezones

Session

GMT

BST

CEST

ET

PT

AEST

JST

IST

FP1

03:00

04:00

05:00

23:00

20:00

13:00

12:00

08:30

FP2

06:00

07:00

08:00

02:00

23:00

16:00

15:00

11:30

FP3

03:00

04:00

05:00

23:00

20:00

13:00

12:00

08:30

Qualifying

06:00

07:00

08:00

02:00

23:00

16:00

15:00

11:30

Race

05:00

06:00

07:00

01:00

22:00

15:00

14:00

10:30

How can I watch qualifying?

Formula 1 is broadcast live in nearly every country around the world.

Europe:

  • Austria – Servus TV / ORF
  • Belgium – RTBF / Telent / Play Sport Open
  • Czech Republic – AMC
  • Denmark – TV3 / TV3 Sport / Viaplay
  • Finland – Viaplay
  • France – Canal+
  • Germany – Sky / RTL
  • Greece – ERT / Cosmote TV
  • Hungary – M4
  • Italy – Sky
  • Netherlands – Viaplay
  • Poland – Eleven Sports
  • Portugal – Sport TV
  • Spain – Movistar / DAZN
  • Sweden – Viaplay / V sport motor / TV 10
  • Switzerland – SRF / RSI / RTS
  • UK – Sky Sports F1

Americas:

  • USA – ESPN2
  • Canada – RDS / RDS2 / TSN / Noovo
  • Latin America – Fox Sports / ESPN

Asia:

  • China – Great Sports TV / Guangdong TV
  • India – Star Sports
  • Japan – Fuji Television
  • Malaysia – Astro Sports
  • Indonesia- 0 Channel / Champions TV / Vidio
  • Singapore – Singtel / Starhub
  • Thailand – True Visions
  • Turkey – S Sport / S Sport Plus
  • Vietnam – K+

Oceania:

  • Australia – Fox Sports / Network 10
  • New Zealand – Spark Sports

Africa:

  • Africa – SuperSport

Can I stream qualifying?

Viewers from selected countries can subscribe to F1 TV to stream qualifying on a device of their choice. Some local broadcasters such as Sky TV (UK) and Movistar (Spain) also offer their own on-demand service.

Live commentary

Motorsport.com will bring the latest updates from Albert Park throughout the weekend, including live commentary during qualifying on Saturday.

 

Lewis Hamilton 13th as car struggles continue at Australian F1 GP practice

  • Former champion two behind Mercedes teammate Russell
  • ‘Nothing we change makes a difference at the moment’
Lewis Hamilton looks disappointed after finishing his practice session

Lewis Hamilton looks disappointed after finishing his practice session.

 

At a meeting where he has enjoyed no little pleasure in the past, this weekend’s Australian Grand Prix looks set to be a positively painful experience for Lewis Hamilton. The seven-time champion’s frustration at his underperforming Mercedes in Melbourne was palpable as the team’s efforts to improve appeared to be futile.

Hamilton has won here twice and taken pole a record eight times, including the last six consecutive races. But in a stark change of fortune this year, he will not be threatening the front of the grid at Albert Park on Saturday.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.